“I Was A Manic Pixie Dream Girl”

So I Quit My Job and Moved to India

Thanks to an amazing article, sent by my friend Kristen, it got me thinking more about the Manic Pixie Dream Girl, which, if I am being truly honest, I sort of modeled myself after for the longest time, and also why the show New Girl frustrated me so much (because it was like looking at myself in the mirror and wondering why the heck I wanted to be that person who seemed so incredibly lame).  This post is just taking my favorite parts of this article and posting them for all to read.  Because they really speak to me.

It was the critic Nathan Rabin who coined the term in a review of the film Elizabethtown, explaining that the character of the Manic Pixie Dream Girl “exists solely in the fevered imaginations of sensitive writer-directors to teach broodingly soulful young men to embrace life and its infinite mysteries and adventures”. She…

View original post 475 more words

Leave a Reply

