Damsels In Distress

I’ve just finished watching this…. Anita Sarkeesian never fails to impress.

realfakegeekgrl

I stumbled across this video in a post on The Mary Sue today and decided I’d give it a look. The intro they gave her there on her first video very accurately sums up my feelings about who she is, what she presents and my agreement with it:

“Anita Sarkeesian runs a blog called Feminist Frequency and a long running, fascinating webseries of the same name where she examines the ways in which media and most often modern popular culture subtly and not-so-subtly support and perpetuate misogynistic ideas. I love her videos not because I necessarily agree with everything she’s ever said ever (you know, because we are not a single consciousness) but because when I do disagree with her, her detailed approach prompts me to calmly, privately examine why.”

Her video posts are thought provoking and make me stop and take a look at what is considered to be…

View original post 33 more words

Leave a Reply

